What is Lyle’s golden Golden syrup Syrup made from?
Let’s get technical for a second; golden syrup is an inverted sugar syrup that’s made during the process of refining sugar cane to create sugar.
Essentially, when sugar cane is broken down to create sugar, it also creates a thick and sweet golden-coloured syrup that has a similar texture to treacle – this is the silky-smooth golden syrup we all know and love today!
Enough of the technical stuff – is Lyle’s Golden Syrup vegan?
The short answer is yes, Lyle’s Golden Syrup is suitable for vegetarians and vegans. Our syrup is made from completely natural ingredients and doesn’t contain any animal products – it’s also a great alternative to honey!
Our golden syrup doesn’t contain any nasties like artificial colours, flavours or preservatives, and we also hold a Kosher and Halal certification. What’s more, our golden syrup is also:
• Free from fat and cholesterol
In fact, all our Lyle’s products are suitable for vegetarians and vegans – apart from Lyle’s Chocolate Flavoured Dessert Syrup, which contains skimmed milk powder.
The story of Lyle’s Golden Syrup
Our story dates all the way back to 1881 when our founding father, Abram Lyle, built a sugar refinery by the River Thames in East London (still there to this day) and discovered that the process of refining sugar created a luscious golden syrup. He started selling it to local grocers in London and it continued to grow in popularity and become the kitchen cupboard staple it is today.
Our classic golden syrup tins still adorn the same authentic packaging and branding that Abram Lyle created – in fact, we were awarded a Guinness World Record in 2007 for the world’s oldest, unchanged brand packaging!